SCTA Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 8:30am - 4:30pm & Thursday 8:30am - 12:00pm

#301 - 5710 Teredo Street, P.O. Box 951, Sechelt, BC VON 3A0 phone 604 885 7944,  fax 604 885 9837

SCTA President Louise Herle:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  mobile 604 741 8893   SCTA Office Manager  Lana Chapman:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

BC Provincial Election Day:  Tuesday, May 9  Vote!
Advance Voting:  April 29, 30 and May 3, 4, 5, 6

All Candidates Forums
Heritage Playhouse Gibsons - Tuesday, April 18, 5:00pm
Chatelech Secondary School Sechelt - Wednesday, April 19, 6:00pm
Roberts Creek Hall - Friday, April 21, 7:00pm
Pender Harbour Community Hall - Wednesday, April 26, 6:30pm
Elphinstone Library Gibsons - Monday, May 1, 5:30pm ALL EDUCATION

Louise Herle, M.Ed.
Sunshine Coast Teachers' Association President
Office:  604 885 7944  Mobile:  604 741 8893  Website:


Please Read






Important Dates and Communiqué

  • BCTF AGM  Saturday, March 19 to Tuesday, March 21

 School Closures Monday, March 13 to Friday, March 17

Spring Break Monday, March 20 to Friday, March 24
Back to school  Monday, March 27



  • Teacher PD Day Monday, April 3
  • BCTF PD Workshop:  Women In Negotiations Monday, April 3, 9:00am-noon, SCTA Office
  • BCTF School Union Reps Workshop  Tuesday, April 4, 9:00 - 3:30pm SCTA Office
  • Special PD Project Draw Application Deadline Friday, April 21
  • PD Committee Meeting  Tuesday, April 25, 4:00pm SCTA Office
  • BCTF Zone Meeting Friday/Saturday, April 28/29 Nanaimo
  • SCTA Executive Meeting Tuesday, May 2
  • BC Election Day Tuesday, May 9
  • PD Day .5 Teacher .5 Ministry/Admin Curriculum Implementation


  • SCTA  Annual General Meeting   Tuesday, May 16
  • SCTA Teacher Celebration Tuesday, June 20, Roberts Creek Golf Course








Sunshine Coast Teachers' Association President Louise Herle presented a $400.00 cheque to Sechelt Seniors Activity Centre President Joanne Rykers.  The contribution helps support a Syrian Refugee family and was the result of a motion brought to the SCTA Executive Table by Susan Telfer.  October 6, 2016

Click here to see photo


 BCTF resources on New Teachers’ Page:
New Teacher Handbook: (has mobile friendly versions)


PSA Link -
TTOC? part time?  -


BC Early Career Teachers’ Association (BCECTA) /  / 

BC Early Career Teachers’ Association’s newsletter -
Click to view


Dear Parents:

“Feed their Minds. Fund Their Schools”

This campaign highlights the need for BC to invest in public education. The brochure explains the major funding challenges faced by BC’s students, teachers, and school districts. Solutions for these issues are offered, as well as suggestions for how everyone concerned about this issue can work together. For detailed information please visit the BCTF Research section and  Tell your MLA

Working together to make our schools healthy and safe  click here to view



CONGRATULATIONS! SCTA Executive Committee 2016/2017 click here to view


After very thoughtful discussions and debate, the EC pension recommendation was passed at the 2016 BCTF AGM.  The next steps include developing the language with the Plan Partner with a goal of implementing the change effective January 1, 2018.
Updated document on the BCTF pension consultations here:

 School Calendar 2016/17  click here for more information

 SD 46 LOU Implementation of the 2016-2017 School Calendar  click here to view

The latest salary grids are now available on the Federation’s website which can be accessed here:   
These grids include all increases up to July 1, 2016.  Additional salary grids will be posted once the impact of any future ESD (Economic Stability Dividend) has been determined. The ESD, if applicable, will be applied May 1, 2017, 2018 and 2019 and will impact future salary increases that are scheduled for: July 1, 2017 (0.5%), May 1, 2018 (1.0%), July 1, 2018 (0.5%), and May 1, 2019 (1.0%).



NEW Provincial Collective Agreement 2013 - 2019 posted on this website: click Executive tab above then ->  Collective Agreement

NEW PD & Mentorship Reimbursement Forms 2016.2017 posted on this website: click PD tab above then ->  PD or Mentorship


Local Curriculum Planning Team:  Jacquie Shelemey, Laurie Davies, Jennifer Marquis, Deb Purdy, Sue Bailey, Michael Derby, Peter McConnell,  Eran Foreman,  Corey Campbell, Leah Judd, Alison Liddicoat, Jonathan Fawcus,  Drew Murphy, Nick Smith, Maya Sanders,  Lisa Allen,  Pamela Kaatz,  Lorraine Radford, Lexa Pomfret
Curriculum Implementation District Teacher:  David Barnum
Education Implementation Committee Members:  Paddy McCallum, Jay Walls, Bev Wagner, Louise Herle, Patrick Bocking, Vanessa White, Paul Bishop, Kate Kerr


SCTA and BC Retired Teachers' Associations

click here for more information


SCTA Teacher Celebration Program

click here to view program